Although its outer appearance isn't very impressive, Wat Mano (Thanon Samsenthai ) stands just outside the barely visible city walls and occupies possibly the oldest temple site in Luang Prabang. City annals say it was founded in 1375 on the site of a smaller temple established by King Fa Ngum himself. The decaying sim held the Pha Bang from 1502 to 1513 and still contains a huge sitting bronze Buddha east in 1372. This image is approximately 6m high and weighs an estimated two tones some parts. of the bronze are l5mm thick. Considered an' important city talisman, the image would probably have been moved to another temple by now if anyone could figure out how to move it!
The Buddha's arms reportedly came off during a battle between French and Thai armies in the late 19th century. After the battle the colonialists allegedly made off with the appendages except for a portion of one forearm now placed beside one of the feet. The Lao later econstructed the missing arms with cement. Near the sim are the scant remains of an older temple, Wat Xieng Kang, allegedly constructed in 1363.